We’ve received quite a few scam emails recently from various Chinese domain name registration companies claiming that someone in Asia is trying to register <ourdomain>.cn, <ourdomain>.asia etc (where we own <ourdomain>.com).
The scam email sender hopes that we’ll try to protect our brand name overseas by registering these domains ourselves via the senders company – paying £100′s per year for the pleasure of course.
If you receive one of these emails you can be sure that you’ve not been sent it due to someone actually trying to register your company name, you’re just one of the millions of people who are automatically sent this email every day.
Below is a version we received this morning (complete with the usual grammatical flair):
(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward to your CEO, as this is urgent, thank you.)
Dear CEO,
We are the department of registration service in China. We have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on November 5, 2010, one company which called “NC Fashion Co., Ltd” is applying to register “GoIgloo” as brand name and domain names as below :
goigloo.asia
goigloo.cn
goigloo.com.cn
goigloo.com.hk
goigloo.com.tw
goigloo.hk
goigloo.in
goigloo.twAfter our initial checking, we found the brand name and these domain names being applied are as same as your company’s, so we need to get the confirmation from your company. If the aforesaid company is your business partner or your subsidiary company, please don’t reply us, we will approve the application automatically. If you have no any relationship with this company, please contact us within 5 workdays. If out of the deadline, we will approve the application submitted by “NC Fashion Co., Ltd” unconditionally.
Best Regards,
John Tsai
Senior Consultant
Shanghai Fnew Public Web Center Ltd
(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward to your CEO, as this is urgent, thank you.)
Dear CEO,
We are the department of registration service in China. We have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on November 5, 2010, one company which called “NC Fashion Co., Ltd” is applying to register “goigloo” as brand name and domain names as below :
goigloo.asia
goigloo.cn
goigloo.com.cn
goigloo.com.hk
goigloo.com.tw
goigloo.hk
goigloo.in
goigloo.tw
After our initial checking, we found the brand name and these domain names being applied are as same as your company’s, so we need to get the confirmation from your company. If the aforesaid company is your business partner or your subsidiary company, please don’t reply us, we will approve the application automatically. If you have no any relationship with this company, please contact us within 5 workdays. If out of the deadline, we will approve the application submitted by “NC Fashion Co., Ltd” unconditionally.
Best Regards,
John Tsai
Senior Consultant
2010-11-08

